Author Topic: WT6 Cov1  (Read 3900 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vince148

  • Silver
  • Posts: 2462
  • Total likes: 111
  • Coaching: High School
  • Defense: Other
  • Offense: Single Wing
  • Title: Head Coach
WT6 Cov1
« on: May 12, 2014, 12:19:21 PM »
Can you even run cover 1 from WT6 or do you have to morph into a 44? I guess a good example would be WT6 vs. wing-T. Who gets the TE in cover 1?
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 12:42:31 PM by Vince148 »

Offline ZACH

  • Administrator
  • Diamond
  • Posts: 10446
  • Total likes: 987
  • Coaching: 12 & Under
  • Defense: 10-1
  • Offense: One Back
  • Title: Head Coach
Re: WT6 Cov1
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 12:25:36 PM »
Can you even run cover 1 from WT6 or do you have to morph into a 44? I guess a good example wood be WT6 vs. wing-T. Who gets the TE in cover 1?

Wt6 cover 1
1 fs playin deep whole
6 down lineman
4 remaining players to cover 5 potential receivers

Question is who do you leave alone?

Thats just how i think if things.

"Some athletes have division 1 dreams and jv work ethic" - random

Offline Pearls of Wisdom

  • Gold
  • Posts: 4611
  • Total likes: 73
  • Read Only Account. Please no PM's or Emails
  • Coaching: High School
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Undecided
  • Title: Retired
Re: WT6 Cov1
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2014, 12:40:00 PM »
Wt6 cover 1
1 fs playin deep whole
6 down lineman
4 remaining players to cover 5 potential receivers

Question is who do you leave alone?

Thats just how i think if things.


NO  ONE.  You rush 5, play 5 on the 5 elgibles, & one FREE! 
PS:  As a variation you CAN rush 4, play 6 on the 5 elgibles (with ONE as the "RAT IN THE HOLE"), and one FREE.
My Contact Info: Coach Bill Mountjoy phone: 804-716-7038 EST /  Email: butzadams@hotmail.com

Offline DL

  • Platinum
  • Posts: 5037
  • Total likes: 138
  • Coaching: 10 & Under
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Spread Formation
  • Title: Head Coach
Re: WT6 Cov1
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2014, 12:51:46 PM »

NO  ONE.  You rush 5, play 5 on the 5 elgibles, & one FREE! 
PS:  As a variation you CAN rush 4, play 6 on the 5 elgibles (with ONE as the "RAT IN THE HOLE"), and one FREE.

Bill,

I was going through some of the Wt6 stuff.

In zero who covers the #2's in spread 2 x 2 and 3 x 1 and who covers #3 in 5 wide (3 x 2)?

Do you move a DE to one side and free to another 2 x 2?   Or keep the Free and move both DE's to the number 2's?

Or keep the DE's and move an Inside LB?   (I like this option least)


Offline Pearls of Wisdom

  • Gold
  • Posts: 4611
  • Total likes: 73
  • Read Only Account. Please no PM's or Emails
  • Coaching: High School
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Undecided
  • Title: Retired
Re: WT6 Cov1
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2014, 01:10:12 PM »
Bill,

I was going through some of the Wt6 stuff.

In zero who covers the #2's in spread 2 x 2 and 3 x 1 and who covers #3 in 5 wide (3 x 2)?

Do you move a DE to one side and free to another 2 x 2?   Or keep the Free and move both DE's to the number 2's?

Or keep the DE's and move an Inside LB?   (I like this option least)

SEE COVER 0 FROM WT-6 ATTACHED:
My Contact Info: Coach Bill Mountjoy phone: 804-716-7038 EST /  Email: butzadams@hotmail.com

Offline DL

  • Platinum
  • Posts: 5037
  • Total likes: 138
  • Coaching: 10 & Under
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Spread Formation
  • Title: Head Coach
Re: WT6 Cov1
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2014, 01:31:57 PM »
SEE COVER 0 FROM WT-6 ATTACHED:

That sheet doesn't cover it enough.   

So according to the sheet H or C has #1   F or S has #2.    Then it says the rest are covered by LBers or DE's.   Most of the Pics have LBers covering other receivers.

If I am in 40 C Man going by the sheets rules than L has #2 to one side and F has the other so this:

                                                      F
         H                 L            L                H
                    E  T      N    N     T  E
     O                  O  O  C  O  O                  O
               O                                       O
                               B  Q

becomes:

                                                     F
         H     L                        L                H
                    E  T      N    N     T  E
     O                  O  O  C  O  O                  O
               O                                       O
                               B  Q


Does remaining L move to middle and who has the vacated B gap?   

I can think of a lot of solutions, like L two gaps or T takes the B or whatever.   

I am just wondering what the standard adjustment is if I made a 40 C man call and they came out in a spread formation.








Offline Pearls of Wisdom

  • Gold
  • Posts: 4611
  • Total likes: 73
  • Read Only Account. Please no PM's or Emails
  • Coaching: High School
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Undecided
  • Title: Retired
Re: WT6 Cov1
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2014, 01:43:50 PM »
That sheet doesn't cover it enough.   

So according to the sheet H or C has #1   F or S has #2.    Then it says the rest are covered by LBers or DE's.   Most of the Pics have LBers covering other receivers.

If I am in 40 C Man going by the sheets rules than L has #2 to one side and F has the other so this:

                                                      F
         H                 L            L                H
                    E  T      N    N     T  E
     O                  O  O  C  O  O                  O
               O                                       O
                               B  Q

becomes:

                                                     F
         H     L                        L                H
                    E  T      N    N     T  E
     O                  O  O  C  O  O                  O
               O                                       O
                               B  Q


Does remaining L move to middle and who has the vacated B gap?   

I can think of a lot of solutions, like L two gaps or T takes the B or whatever.   

I am just wondering what the standard adjustment is if I made a 40 C man call and they came out in a spread formation.


In Cover 0 there is ONE rule - I don't care WHAT they line up in:  This is SIMPLE (trust me -  I have either played in OR coached in this defense since 1952):

Corners = #1 each side
Safety = #2 callside
DE away from Safety has to cover #2 away from call (that is why DE's in the WT-6 are S/S types)

The above accounts for FOUR RECEIVERS.  The FIFTH receiver (#3) goes to either ILB depending on your CALL.

PHONE IF THIS ISN'T CLEAR (804-716-7038)
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 01:57:21 PM by billmountjoy »
My Contact Info: Coach Bill Mountjoy phone: 804-716-7038 EST /  Email: butzadams@hotmail.com

Offline ZACH

  • Administrator
  • Diamond
  • Posts: 10446
  • Total likes: 987
  • Coaching: 12 & Under
  • Defense: 10-1
  • Offense: One Back
  • Title: Head Coach
Re: WT6 Cov1
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2014, 01:46:27 PM »

NO  ONE.  You rush 5, play 5 on the 5 elgibles, & one FREE! 
PS:  As a variation you CAN rush 4, play 6 on the 5 elgibles (with ONE as the "RAT IN THE HOLE"), and one FREE.

I agree 100%... i was hinting that with 6 rush and cover 1 hed be short a man... so your solution should open eyes...
"Some athletes have division 1 dreams and jv work ethic" - random

Offline Pearls of Wisdom

  • Gold
  • Posts: 4611
  • Total likes: 73
  • Read Only Account. Please no PM's or Emails
  • Coaching: High School
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Undecided
  • Title: Retired
Re: WT6 Cov1
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2014, 01:52:08 PM »
I agree 100%... i was hinting that with 6 rush and cover 1 hed be short a man... so your solution should open eyes...


No one is ever "left open" in Cov 1 OR Cov 0 & the adjustment RULES are SIMPLE as it gets!
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 01:58:31 PM by billmountjoy »
My Contact Info: Coach Bill Mountjoy phone: 804-716-7038 EST /  Email: butzadams@hotmail.com

Offline DL

  • Platinum
  • Posts: 5037
  • Total likes: 138
  • Coaching: 10 & Under
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Spread Formation
  • Title: Head Coach
Re: WT6 Cov1
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2014, 02:25:52 PM »

In Cover 0 there is ONE rule - I don't care WHAT they line up in:  This is SIMPLE (trust me -  I have either played in OR coached in this defense since 1952):

Corners = #1 each side
Safety = #2 callside
DE away from Safety has to cover #2 away from call (that is why DE's in the WT-6 are S/S types)

The above accounts for FOUR RECEIVERS.  The FIFTH receiver (#3) goes to either ILB depending on your CALL.

PHONE IF THIS ISN'T CLEAR (804-716-7038)

It's clear now.   That comment cleared up all the coverage questions I had.

I still have some other questions.   I will try to call shortly.   Have a few things at work that need my attention first.

Thank you,

Dan Lyons






Offline Pearls of Wisdom

  • Gold
  • Posts: 4611
  • Total likes: 73
  • Read Only Account. Please no PM's or Emails
  • Coaching: High School
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Undecided
  • Title: Retired
Re: WT6 Cov1
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2014, 02:39:02 PM »
It's clear now.   That comment cleared up all the coverage questions I had.

I still have some other questions.   I will try to call shortly.   Have a few things at work that need my attention first.

Thank you,

Dan Lyons


Phone today from now until 9 PM/Eastern.  804-716-7038

PS:  There really are no exceptions to the rules I posted!
My Contact Info: Coach Bill Mountjoy phone: 804-716-7038 EST /  Email: butzadams@hotmail.com