Author Topic: Zone blocking gap plays  (Read 6927 times)

Offline rangibson

• Copper
  • Coaching: 12 & Under
  • Defense: 4-4 Stack
  • Offense: Other
  • Title: Other
Zone blocking gap plays
« on: January 26, 2014, 11:39:50 AM »
Question for those of you who run IZ, OZ, Power and Counter. All this discussion is assuming a 2x2 formation, no pulling, the H Back trapping and kicking, and 6 Defenders in the box, either a 5-1 or 4-2. It seems to me that the philosophy is to teach 3 OL blocking schemes: Zone, Gap, and Pass Pro. Regarding just Zone and Gap blocking... On most Zone blocking, the BSDE is unblocked, (or picked up by a FB or BSTE). This allows more blockers playside. Then on Gap blocking, using some varity of GDB, the BSDE is now blocked. I am a rookie assistant, but it seems to me if the BSDE is not important to block during IZ/OZ, then why block him on Traps (DT) or Kickouts (DE). With that in mind, why not skip Gap Blocking entirely, and use Zone? Again, it seems to me, and not to over simplify, that on Kickouts you change only your PSOT assignments, and on Traps you change your PSOG assignments. As an example: on kickouts, have the PSOT not block the DE (HB kickout) and block B gap to LB. If the DT is 'on' the OG, then the OT goes straight to the LB because the OG and C are Zoning the DT. The rest of the line Zone Blocks. This keeps the extra blocker playside where as with GDB the BSOT block could be wasted on the BSDE. I have seen where some use 'Zone Away', but that also could reduce the number of blockers playside. So in MHO, Zone works for both Zone and Gap plays with a minor adjustment on the Gap plays, reducing the amount of teaching. Any comments are welcome.

Offline Pearls of Wisdom

• Gold
  • Read Only Account. Please no PM's or Emails
  • Coaching: High School
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Undecided
  • Title: Retired
Re: Zone blocking gap plays
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2014, 12:01:12 PM »