Author Topic: season in review  (Read 351 times)

Offline sabot6d

• Copper
  • Coaching: High School
  • Defense: 4-4 Split
  • Offense: Multiple
  • Title: Head Coach
season in review
« on: October 21, 2014, 12:19:26 AM »
We just had our last game. We are a small org with no national affiliation or playoffs. We play 6 games total every year and the last one gets televised locally.

We ran the R&S this year. I'm a second year coach who admittedly has a ton to learn. I moved up to 5th-6th grade this year.

This offense has great potential and I think even if you don't run it there are some great concepts that could help any team. If you decide to run it have a good and dedicated offensive line coach. My assistants took on calling them Hawaii because we had 5 little islands right in the middle. If they have a tough day then you will too.

We finished 3-3. Which should put us in a tie with 2 other teams. We have 6 teams in our division. Going into our last games we had 3 teams 3-2 and 3 at  2-3. Which is exactly what our board hopes for when drafting. 

The three games that our line played great we blew our opponents out handily. When they didn't it wasn't pretty. 2 of those were tight games because our D carried us and one we got whipped because nobody wanted to play and I couldn't find a way to fire them up. We lost tonight in double overtime. It was heartbreaking and even though I don't drink I walked off the field really wanting a shot.

We tweaked a few things from DCs manual to try and have an official run game. The first game was ugly and I felt the need to diversify. It worked well. All dedicated runs were from motion which we used quite a bit of in passing as well.