Author Topic: $10.00 Solved Most of My Problems  (Read 3332 times)

Offline Seabass

• Silver
  • Coaching: High School
  • Defense: Other
  • Offense: Spread Formation
  • Title: Assistant
$10.00 Solved Most of My Problems
« on: August 23, 2016, 04:01:43 PM »
I got myself into a bad situation last season. I was a first year O-line coach with no experience of any kind as a player and I was made to learn/teach zone blocking. It was so simple conceptually that I thought it would be pretty easy. I was also sold on it being easy by guys that seemed to know what they were talking about. They did understand it conceptually but paper and grass are often times very different. What I learned is that everything they told me was conceptually correct but understanding a concept and teaching it effectively are different. I was so wrong and our guys were terrible.....because I was terrible. We had some success due to some really good backs and terrible competition but we couldn't beat any of the good teams.

Part of me wanted to talk the org into changing their scheme but the competitor in me wanted to figure it out, if for nothing else other than to not admit defeat. By January I had 2 of the 3 guys that make these decisions convinced to change but I continued to try to figure it out. By April I was backpedaling and rooting to stick with zone. One major hurdle was My OC was the guy in my camp wanting to leave zone and now I was wanting to stick with it. Two things changed my mind and it only cost me $10.00 and a bunch of time that I would have spent on football anyway.