Author Topic: Simple Zone blocking question and answer article  (Read 6186 times)

Offline jem

• Silver
  • "Imagination is more important than knowledge."
  • Coaching: 12 & Under
  • Defense: Other
  • Offense: Option
Simple Zone blocking question and answer article
« on: July 05, 2010, 11:25:37 AM »
Below is a question and answer from a website I ran across while researching option.  I thought I would post it here for you Zone blocking guys, so I could hear your thoughts on Coach Louis' answer.

Expert: Coach Louis - 10/31/2006

Question
Hey Coach,
I started at quarterback in college for four years in a wing-T and triple option offense.  I now am fascinated by the spread offense, in particular, the zone blocking techniques that they employ.  I have some knowledge of zone blocking but don't know the terms that are always used.  Anyway, when my team played against a 4-4 defense with the outside linebackers at the line( making it look like a 6-2), they gave us some trouble.  For one, the did a lot of slanting with the d-line and that gave our kids trouble.  And two, the outside linebackers, especially the Sam, would give us trouble even when running inside the tackle.  How do I teach the linemen to block a team that slants a lot? 
My second area that I would like you to comment about is the no huddle offense.  I have an offense that I would like to use and would not mind putting in the no huddle or at least a check with me system.  The main problem for me is that I do not want other teams picking up on the signal calling and I don't have enough terminology to make it work.  Could you please give me some advice on this as well?
Thank You and hopefully this all makes sense,
Nate Skelton

---------------------------------------------

Answer
Dear Nate,