Author Topic: Kicker misses the ball......Penalty or Not?  (Read 2124 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 1 Cor 16:13

  • Copper
  • Posts: 112
  • Total likes: 0
  • Coaching: 10 & Under
  • Defense: 6-3
  • Offense: Single Wing
Kicker misses the ball......Penalty or Not?
« on: September 29, 2011, 11:06:57 AM »
In a recent game, our kicker totally missed the ball.  He didn't touch it all.  Of course the rest of our guys crossed into the neutral zone expecting it to be kicked but never touched anyone from the other team.  Nobody, including the refs knew if this was a penalty.  Fortunately, the other coach just said line back up and kick it again.  Should we have gotten a penalty?   I'm guessing we should have but don't really know.

If that is not a penalty, it's got me thinking about possibilities for a new onside kick. 
Be Watchful, Stand Firm in your Faith, Be Courageous, Be Strong

Offline mahonz

  • Administrator
  • Kryptonite
  • Posts: 23946
  • Total likes: 2314
  • No Wimps
  • Coaching: 7 & Under
  • Defense: DC 46
  • Offense: Single Wing
  • Title: Head Coach
Re: Kicker misses the ball......Penalty or Not?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2011, 11:10:00 AM »
That is a good question.

Im sure someone has the answer.
Collect moments, not wins.

Offline 1 Cor 16:13

  • Copper
  • Posts: 112
  • Total likes: 0
  • Coaching: 10 & Under
  • Defense: 6-3
  • Offense: Single Wing
Re: Kicker misses the ball......Penalty or Not?
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2011, 11:17:10 AM »
I found this on encroachment (By the way we play by NFHS rules):

Encroachment occurs when a player is illegally in the neutral zone during the
time interval starting when the ball is marked ready for play and until the ball is
snapped or free kicked. For the purposes of enforcing encroachment restrictions,
an entering substitute is not considered to be a player until he is on his teamís
side of the neutral zone.


This would tell me that it is encroachment.  But it would also mean a D line that jumps into the neutral zone and gets out without touching anyone and before the ball is snapped would also be penalized.  So I'm still stumped. 
Be Watchful, Stand Firm in your Faith, Be Courageous, Be Strong

Offline S_McQueen

  • Copper
  • Posts: 101
  • Total likes: 1
  • Coaching: 11 & Under
  • Defense: Killer Bee
  • Offense: Pistol
  • Title: Coordinator
Re: Kicker misses the ball......Penalty or Not?
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2011, 02:12:05 PM »
But it would also mean a D line that jumps into the neutral zone and gets out without touching anyone and before the ball is snapped would also be penalized.  So I'm still stumped.

Under NFHS, that is correct.  No jumping and getting back.

Offline Bob Goodman

  • Platinum
  • Posts: 9116
  • Total likes: 296
  • Coaching: 10 & Under
  • Defense: 4-4 Stack
  • Offense: Wing T
  • Title: Assistant
Re: Kicker misses the ball......Penalty or Not?
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2011, 05:56:16 PM »
There was a long discussion about this somewhere, I think at the officials' forum.  The kicker is allowed in the neutral zone ahead of the kick, but there's no kicker until the ball is kicked.  It was pointed out that then the written exception for the kicker makes no sense, so it must be extended in an unwritten manner to an intended kicker.  So the next question was whether that extension should operate for only the fraction of a second between when one foot enters the NZ and when the other foot kicks the ball, or should also apply to an intended kicker who wiffs and reloads.  I don't remember the answer to that, but I don't think there's any way they'd let you deliberately encroach and reset without penalty.