Author Topic: Slot-T trap question  (Read 1111 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vince148

  • Silver
  • Posts: 2393
  • Total likes: 88
  • Coaching: 12 & Under
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Undecided
  • Title: Head Coach
Slot-T trap question
« on: March 21, 2017, 07:44:31 AM »
The general rule for the trapper on both 333 and 243TT is to trap the first man past the center's nose. If you have a 2 and 4 technique as is common with most 60 fronts, does that rule still apply, or would it be better to trap the 4 technique?

Offline Coach Correa

  • Silver
  • Posts: 1454
  • Total likes: 361
  • Loved by few but Respected by All
    • generalgridiron.com
  • Coaching: 14 & Under
  • Defense: 3-5-3
  • Offense: Wing T
  • Title: Head Coach
Re: Slot-T trap question
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2017, 09:57:46 AM »
In our scheme which is very similar. If trap is a must have that week we will go in being able to trap @2 and @ 4 with a simple tag short or long. We will also have our TRICK adjustment down cold to make sure we can get trap off . We are only able to trap that 2 tech cleanly and get inside out of him  because of the advantages our DOLLER BILL SPLIT'S, PICK POCKET TECHNIQUE, and our inside hand down and inside foot back STANCE gives us. So that week we will go in with at least 3 to 4 ways to attack A= gap to A= gap.
Head Coach Tito Correa
Meriden Raiders 14-U
Offense-Hybrid Wing
Defense - Odd- Stack

Offline coacho

  • Bronze
  • Posts: 642
  • Total likes: 57
  • Coaching: 10 & Under
  • Defense: 5-3
  • Offense: Undecided
Re: Slot-T trap question
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2017, 11:38:36 AM »
In concept the first down lineman could be a two or a four technique. Instead of techniques I like to dictate lineman as first or second when trapping. I try and take the guests work out of the assignment for the kids. Our trapping series is Bing, Bang, and Boom. Bing traps the first down lineman instead our frontside tackle. Bang (1st) and Boom (2nd) trap the first and second down linemen on the opposite side of the center.   

Offline Vince148

  • Silver
  • Posts: 2393
  • Total likes: 88
  • Coaching: 12 & Under
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Undecided
  • Title: Head Coach
Re: Slot-T trap question
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2017, 06:34:16 AM »
Actually, since the QT rips to the MDLB, the QG could just block out on the "4" while the SG pulls and traps the "2".

Offline paketterman

  • Copper
  • Posts: 98
  • Total likes: 17
    • Slot-T blog
  • Coaching: High School
  • Defense: Undecided
  • Offense: Other
  • Title: Coordinator
Re: Slot-T trap question
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2017, 02:13:03 PM »
Hope this answers some questions, coach!
Twitter @flapattack92

slot-t.blogspot.com

Offline Bob Goodman

  • Platinum
  • Posts: 9128
  • Total likes: 297
  • Coaching: 10 & Under
  • Defense: 4-4 Stack
  • Offense: Wing T
  • Title: Assistant
Re: Slot-T trap question
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2017, 10:29:59 PM »
Hope this answers some questions, coach!
I see you're coaching HS, and wondering about how I'd work those plays with pre-teens, especially considering the players likely to be playing OT & DE.  Here's how I'd attempt it if I had to, and I'd like to know how well it conforms to anybody's experience.

You diagram a T (or in one case a G) stepping toward a DT (who's eventually going to be trapped), then coming off to take care of a DE.  What I'd have the blocker do is hinge back and pass set, protecting inside out.  The DT should not be much of a threat if he penetrates, but he's got to be convinced for the moment that he needs to take on the initial blocker.  My main fear for blowing up the play would be the DE's coming around the back of the initial blocker, so I want to have that blocker unengaged.  If the DT's bull rushing and engages the blocker and blows him into the backfield, my hope would be they'd get in the way of a DE who's trying to go around the blocker's back, and that the DE has no idea of coming over the top.

As I look at it, you're not actually trapping only one DL, effectively you have to trap 2.  If the DE's a reader, you shouldn't be trapping the DT in this case even if he's a blind rusher.